Claysdad

Why is the "grind" considered a good thing?

I'd say "Too much of a good thing, at best."  Some grind gives you a feel of Progression.  You start off with commons, and work your way up to more/better weapons.

This particular grind, though.  It's just too repetititititve.  Day after day of 2-3 minute matches just kinda run together.  

• Upvote 6

23 minutes ago, Claysdad said:

The grind deters new players. I started around Halloween of 19' with another friend. We both avged 20-25hrs of playing a week. He eventually burned out after 3 months. I have approached numerous others about playing. Everyone likes idea of a free game but only 1 has decided to play. The idea that it will take them 6+ months of serious grinding or hundreds of dollars to play competitively with me makes it not worth the cost.

If the current grind deters them then it's for the best that they don't keep playing for much longer. I started playing in 2017 when the grind was much much worse. The knight rider events had to be started specifically to give resources a value that was actually worth something because until then they weren't and it was a nightmare getting your first rare. The grind has overall gotten lesser over time.

They also are looking at the game the wrong way, Crossout isn't a competitive game and I don't enjoy playing in competitive modes specifically because of this. I play to have fun, any grinding I do is to have more fun.

31 minutes ago, Claysdad said:

I understand everyone up til now has grinded. I understand the grind used to be worse. So what. The game would be better for all if the grind was optional. Some enjoy raids and daily objectives. Many abhor them. Make the game new player friendly. Make it MUCH easier to get into playing CW in a semi competitive manner. Make it where Crossout is a game that people want to play, both old and new alike