PS brackets: are they real?

This has come up in a few threads lately, and I think I deserves its own thread.

When I started playing, I quickly noticed that there were a lot of players running builds that were either x999 or x499 PS, in an effort to have the most powerful build in a certain PS bracket.

But while it seemed like it worked back then, I believe they eventually changed the system to a variable spread, nullifying that strategy.

Others believe that trick still works, but only when there are enough players online to make it work.

I still havenā€™t got around to directly testing it, but I have been taking note of the highest PS players on each team, and looking for patterns, but so far I havenā€™t found anything suggesting hard brackets that could be manipulated like that.

Anyone interested in doing some testing?
Even just posting match load screenshots from a bunch of consecutive games would give us some raw data to look at and analyze.

I believe there are. I think also they have become a bit looser as time has passed.

For sure there used to be easily identifiable brackets.

There was the harvester bracket
Then the wedge SG bracket.
Then theā€¦
Oh yeah it was separated by PS also!

2 Likes

Just played a bunch of matches with various builds. One was 8499, and it was never too PS. Then I played one that was just below 9kPS, and again, I was usually in the middle.
Tried some higher PS builds as well, and kept ending up mostly in the middle, sometimes at the bottom, and sometimes at the top.

If there is a bracket system, Iā€™m not able to decode it.
But I also donā€™t know what the brackets are supposed to be, so I might be doing it wrong.

2499, 4699, 6499, 8999 (someone correct me if Iā€™m off please)

There are not ā€œHardā€ brackets.